Well, here goes!

In searching for the appropriately important words for an occasion as auspicious as one’s first blog post, I remembered that my purpose isn’t to awe or inspire, necessarily.  Simply put, sometimes I think I’ve stumbled upon interesting thoughts to “chew” on.  I’ve forgotten where I first read these sorts of thoughts referred to as “noodles,” so please let is suffice to say that I’ve appropriated that phrase from someone more eloquent than myself.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that what began as a utilitarian foray into Facebook  to track down “lost students” in my first year as an advisor, has wrought another utilitarian foray into a social media.  My boss said, “get on that faceboard thing and find these lost students–they’re putting their cell phone numbers on their profiles.”  It didn’t take long to discover how much could be gained from actually engaging students in their environment as opposed to spying on them or intruding “The Institution” into their online social spaces.  So, very nearly five years later, I submit my first attempt at further engaging you, my student population, in this social media construct with the audacious hope that you’ll choose to interact with me here.  And to you, my colleagues–I hope you find my observations and ideas thought-provoking as well.

Some one, somewhere, in a web-seminar I attended a year or so ago, made the astute observation that “the internet is about choice.”  I try to bear that in mind when I put things into this cyber-space with the hope that someone will stumble upon and find it meaningful.  And perhaps this means I really need to get over myself and accept that fact that I do hope to inspire. . .but certainly not to awe. . .I’m not that audacious

Questions? Comments? Observations?

About Art

I've been a higher education professional for over 15 years and an Academic Advising administrator for the past eight of those. I have a background in exploratory student advising and have spent a great deal of time guiding students through contemplating their personal college-to-career pathways. I've published, presented, and consulted on the intersection of social media and academia and am a firm believer in social media's power as a tool for engagement rather than solely information delivery. I've worked at public and private institutions as well as 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. I believe in Academic Advising as a teaching and learning activity, that learner-centered education is the key to students' academic success, and that as long as we keep students' individual goals and success at the center of our decision-making process, the problem of college-level student attrition can be solved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, here goes!

  1. Shaun says:

    Art, you awe me regular-like.

    Like

  2. Matt says:

    Bravo Art! I can’t think of how many times you’ve answered questions for me via social media other advisers don’t take advantage of. (Facebook, AIM) Looking forward to hearing your thoughts in this new medium.

    Like

Leave a Reply

