Why All Musicians Should Be Forced To Appreciate Basic Music History

So, I finally showed my wife how to download stuff on iTunes and she was digging in on a little Cold Play—it refreshed my agitation about a law suit they fought last year (and that they foolishly settled)…now the vein in my head is going a mile a minute. Essentially, I forget what idiot pop star was suing them over the melody for Viva La Vida (OK, I didn’t forget, I just don’t want to get the idiot’s name on any more we pages), but the construction of the melody was at issue.

Now, after listening to the two songs, the construction of the melody is similar. However, you could dial your listening all the way back to the baroque era, focus in on the basic ornamentation of a series of descending whole tones and hear THE_EXACT_SAME_MELODIC_CONSTRUCTION! What’s my point, you ask? Simple. By requiring every professional musician, regardless of their chosen genre, to have a basic understanding of music history, we’d be able to avert any of them acting like an ass by thinking they’d invented western tonal harmony!

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

