Ranting About Rankings?

http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2010/01/13/usnews#Comments

So, I’m on the fence on this one. I appreciate the benefit of college ranking systems and that they can be helpful to potential students in the “shopping” phase of their post-secondary educational reality.

I guess the idealist in me would hope that more educational outcome-focused data would comprise the bulk of the input.  And this quote from the article really couldn’t express my cynicism any better–even if I’d written it myself:

In the study, two scholars evaluated changes in reputational scores of colleges and then looked for correlations between those changes and other factors that U.S. News declares are important and recalculates each year: graduation and retention, faculty resources, selectivity and financial resources. These factors are of course also controversial with many educators, who say that they reward colleges for being wealthy and rejecting many students.

So, I don’t know. . .what do you all think?

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

