Civility?

“Party Mocking Black History Month Angers Many at UCSD”

“Is Heckling Right?”

Incident at Irvine prompts debate over whether repeatedly interrupting a campus speaker is an exercise of free expression or the suppression of free expression

The two reports above from my daily Inside Higher Ed news feed left me gravely dismayed this morning. These, in combination with the ridiculous tactics of “Tea Party” members last summer seem to underscore how uncivilized we actually are. My blood is boiling and the vein in my head is throbbing with rage as I write this, making it difficult for me to marshal my emotions and express everything I think needs to be expressed. I’ll again refrain from delivering an Alan Shore-like diatribe, but simply ask how we got here?

How is it that a person can come to the conclusion that the best way to behave when someone is talking about something you don’t agree with is to shout so loudly that the other person can’t be heard? Isn’t this that sort of behavior we should have been taught was wrong when we were children throwing temper tantrums? And how can pampered college students think it a good idea to be so blatantly insensitive to racial and socio-economic struggles on this day and in these times?

ugh!

About Art

I've been a higher education professional for over 15 years and an Academic Advising administrator for the past eight of those. I have a background in exploratory student advising and have spent a great deal of time guiding students through contemplating their personal college-to-career pathways. I've published, presented, and consulted on the intersection of social media and academia and am a firm believer in social media's power as a tool for engagement rather than solely information delivery. I've worked at public and private institutions as well as 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. I believe in Academic Advising as a teaching and learning activity, that learner-centered education is the key to students' academic success, and that as long as we keep students' individual goals and success at the center of our decision-making process, the problem of college-level student attrition can be solved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

