Is it just me, or should people have understood this from the start?

This is another great entry from the Six Pixels blog:

I’m particularly drawn to the the quote included from the article he linked–this bit:

“he has grown uncomfortable with the constant exposure. ‘You get the sense that you’re someone else’s entertainment. Your life is a product and that to me is a frightening idea.'”

This was the rationale of a once-avid Social Media devotee who has recently decided to “hang it up;” to “commit it to the river or the flame;” to “pack up his marbles and go home.”

My question is, how did he not appreciate this reality from the start? He entered Social Media spaces in order to draw attention to his work–what else could his impetus have been than to be “someone else’s entertainment?” I’m not convinced that his new-found realization is all that new; that he didn’t know the job was dangerous when he took it.

I can imagine other reasons for being in the space than self-promotion and marketing, but that’s because my impetus for being here is to situation educational practices in environments that my students inhabit. It’s the same thing really–I want to draw attention to the things I’m trying to teach my students–but at least I’m being honest about my quest to shine a spotlight on things I find important and worthy of sharing.

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

