Get Over Yourself!

OK, go to this page and first read the little blurb about social media addiction. Then, read the first comment. Again, my outrage at the “book burning” mentality displayed toward social media in academia has made the vein in my head come frighteningly close to bursting.

So, let’s see…young people are addicted to social media…granted. But what dose this mean? To what are they showing signs of addiction? Connecting with friends across campus, across the country, across the globe, and yes, in some cases across the classroom. In most cases, though, they are connecting to individuals with whom they can’t have any interaction otherwise.

Social media is just that–SOCIAL. It helps us maintain connections with others at any time we see fit and allows them to respond with a similarly self-defined time shift. It keeps us connected to each other. My colleague Karen Thurmond mentioned in the course of conversation one day that she felt, if anything, social media makes us more human (I’ve been begging her to publish this somewhere and I can’t wait to read it).

And the fact that the comment on the Higher Ed site compared social media addiction to addiction to cigarette smoking? Come to me when you prove that social media, or second-hand social media, is a Class A carcinogen and I’ll say you have a case. But otherwise, step out of the dark ages and get over yourself!

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

