To: NACADA Region 1, So Long and Thanks for the Whuffie!

As I  linger over my morning coffee (freshly brewed green Mountain Organic–thanks to the gift bag;), I’m fondly recollecting some of the best NACADA memories I’ve ever compiled. Here are a few, listed in no particular order:

Representing the Region 1 interlopers table at the first time attendees lunch

My new friends from the Pre-conference workshops: Paulette, Anita, Kat, Ellen, Kerianna, Matt, Vince, Steven, Susan, and Tracy.

paybacks, Rodney...there are consequences to our actions 😉

Rodney Mondor, at once encouraging the use of social media and mocking those of us who think we could drag him into our twisted little world (and I mean mocking in a good way 😉

The twitter-sphere’s reaction to my speech–including Charlie Nutt joining in the impromptu “live chat” that erupted

Josh Gaynor’s reactions to my dinner-time commentaries delivered via twitter hash tags (I think he laughed the hardest at #paradeofmeat and #reallyeffingood)

Having earned “mayor” of the conference on Foursquare with the location that Josh Created for us

Thanks to Kerianne Silver for the pic

Having earned Ice Road Trucker Status on the drive up

The poem Susan Kolls composed using my Facebook status updates (below)

Curse’d Technology

It was like a voltron of crazy, Really, Philadelphia?

That rotation is stupid! I meant “stupid”

In a good way. Hoping that stress will

Have some lasting side effects –

Could stand to lose a few pounds and think

That gray hair is distinguishing. I’d like to apologize

to the reasonable sensibilities of my vegetarian

And vegan friends for enjoying the steak I just had

As much as I did.

Sent sis on her way with a little chocolate for her road trip

Keot all the cheesecake. Man I could eat hollandaise

With a spoon, as if it was soup. Just heard

There is such a thing as Bacon-washed Bourbon-

Gotta go to Tennessee for Christmas, apparently–

Art Esposito is seeking clarity.

Art Esposito is about to get his game on.

Ultimately, my best memory will be of the conference in general. I was profoundly honored by being asked to deliver one of the keynote addresses; I was overwhelmed by how unspeakably kind the conference committee and volunteers were; and I’m ecstatic to have made so many new and dear NACADA friends.

So thanks for the exchange of Whuffie, #nacadaR1!

About Art

I've been a higher education professional for over 15 years and an Academic Advising administrator for the past eight of those. I have a background in exploratory student advising and have spent a great deal of time guiding students through contemplating their personal college-to-career pathways. I've published, presented, and consulted on the intersection of social media and academia and am a firm believer in social media's power as a tool for engagement rather than solely information delivery. I've worked at public and private institutions as well as 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. I believe in Academic Advising as a teaching and learning activity, that learner-centered education is the key to students' academic success, and that as long as we keep students' individual goals and success at the center of our decision-making process, the problem of college-level student attrition can be solved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

