An Announcement

Dear Students and Colleagues,

With equal parts excitement and sadness, I write to tell you all that I’ll be leaving VCU on November 4. I’ve accepted a position as the Associate Director of Academic Advising in the Center for Advising and Student Transitions at Montclair State University.

This is truly a bittersweet moment for me. I love my staff in the Discovery Advising program, and have loved every minute of serving the student population at VCU. It’s rare to find, in one location, both the discovery of one’s vocation and its seemingly perfect manifestation, but that is what VCU has represented for me these last eight years. To my current first year advisees I say, please come see me so we can discuss who will be taking over for me. To those I’ve advised over the years, feel free to stop in for a final “check in.”

To my colleagues and peers in the Richmond Arts Community—I’m sad to leave this energetic environment that is certainly growing more and more cohesive every day. I’m equally sad to not be here to see it transformed into the collegial and connected community it can be. To you all—keep fighting the good fight (for access to more venues, better remuneration for your artistry, and the continued promotion of local artists)! Turning in my Richmond Philharmonic Orchestra folder for the final time last Monday hurt a little more than I had expected–I’ll miss my “bottom-feeder” friends in the bass section and in addition to those of you in the higher registers as well. And I will miss recent jazz collaborations with Swing Shift, Mark Ingraham, and Chris Ryan…but who knows what the future holds (road trips, anyone?).

To my NACADA colleagues, I’m happy to report that not much will change—I’m still in Region 2, but am also looking forward to potential Region 1 Interloping 😉 I’m also excited to be nearer my colleagues in the North East, though I’ll miss those of you I leave in the south…

…but isn’t that what social media is for in the first place–to stay connected when time and space conspire against you?

Now, anybody know anyone in Richmond looking to sublet a Tragically Hip and Unspeakably Bitchin apartment in Carytown?

About Art

I've been a higher education professional for over 15 years and an Academic Advising administrator for the past eight of those. I have a background in exploratory student advising and have spent a great deal of time guiding students through contemplating their personal college-to-career pathways. I've published, presented, and consulted on the intersection of social media and academia and am a firm believer in social media's power as a tool for engagement rather than solely information delivery. I've worked at public and private institutions as well as 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. I believe in Academic Advising as a teaching and learning activity, that learner-centered education is the key to students' academic success, and that as long as we keep students' individual goals and success at the center of our decision-making process, the problem of college-level student attrition can be solved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Announcement

  1. anne says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

