I break stuff all the time

What Would You Do

I hate to be a cliché of a Facebook fanboy, but these internal slogans at Facebook HQ resonate with me. Well, maybe not the first one so much, but the middle one especially. A dear friend recently blogged about the risk of doing nothing and it seems to me that fear of the unknown might be one of those paralyzing emotions leading to inaction. As one trained to be an improvisor, I think I live in a  creative space that requires a fearlessness, even when I don’t have a string bass leaned up against me.

At the core of improvisational realities is the improvisor’s, or each improvisor’s, ability to say yes to the parameters of the scenario in which they find themselves and the suggestions made by others, and to follow that  “yes” with “and…” in addition to no fear of where the response will lead and how others will work with what you offer and how it changes the parameters of the scenario in which you all started. I’ve found that in moments when everyone in the room is embracing the “yes, and…” approach, truly great solutions are found, plans are made, or works of art are created.

So what does this mean for all of you who read this–advisors and advisees alike? I don’t know, I guess that depends on whether you respond “yes, and…” or “no, wait a minute…” Still no fan of the “done is better than perfect” maxim, but two out of three isn’t bad.

OK, I’m off to break some things now…

About Art

I've been a higher education professional for over 15 years and an Academic Advising administrator for the past eight of those. I have a background in exploratory student advising and have spent a great deal of time guiding students through contemplating their personal college-to-career pathways. I've published, presented, and consulted on the intersection of social media and academia and am a firm believer in social media's power as a tool for engagement rather than solely information delivery. I've worked at public and private institutions as well as 2-year colleges and 4-year universities. I believe in Academic Advising as a teaching and learning activity, that learner-centered education is the key to students' academic success, and that as long as we keep students' individual goals and success at the center of our decision-making process, the problem of college-level student attrition can be solved.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I break stuff all the time

  1. Pingback: I break stuff all the time | CAST Blog

Leave a Reply

