On Landmarks and Lighting Out for New Territory

I’ve been quiet for a while, so quiet on this blog that I missed this happen, as WP informed me 86 days ago:

Capture

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a few other things going on 😉

2014-06-23 09.35.242014-07-15 06.43.432014-07-04 20.10.50

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So now, as I contemplate what I want the social media presence to be for my new office, word press has spurred some reflection on what my social media presence has been in general… and, funnily enough, has made me feel a little hesitant to jump in with both feet–for what seems like the first time in my advising career, to hesitate before lighting out for the new, unexplored territory of engaging a student population that, as of yet, I know only a little about. (Don’t judge my preposition: http://public.wsu.edu/~brians/errors/churchill.html)Joined FB

I’ve been situating my advising praxis in social media environments for far longer than 5 years, but it was only five years ago that I found a way to use a blog in a way that I thought truly engaged students and benefited my advisees’ development. I guess that’s why I put on the brakes a few days ago in planning on creating the social communications plan for the Advising Office I now direct. I wondered if my students would actually benefit from my grand scheme of communicating with them in as many Web environments as exist. What if they aren’t simply there? Will my efforts be the proverbial “tree in the forest?”

I don’t know that there has been much of a point to this post beyond getting the chance to share a few wedding/honeymoon pics. Maybe also to say, “wow, I’ve been doing this for five years now? It’s time for a new direction!” Suggestions, anyone?

 

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Landmarks and Lighting Out for New Territory

  1. For what it’s worth, I’ve really enjoyed hearing your perspective on academic advising over the years. I wish you all the best in finding your new direction!

    Like

Leave a Reply

