Post #NACADA14 Conference Follow-up… With Yourself

Another NACADA conference is in the books, and it was another fantastic opportunity to re-connect, network, and grow professionally. Charlie Nutt’s and Darrell Strayhorn’s speeches were terrifically inspiring, and the selection of concurrent sessions was actually a little overwhelming. Personally, I had a bitter-sweet conference, bidding adieu to my dear friends in Region 2–the region in which I “grew up” as an advisor, in which I was inspired on a consistent basis to write and present, and the region in which I learned what it meant to be a leader. On the sweet side, I got to reporting for duty in Region 1, attend sessions with my wife, and realize that the advisors in the Northeast are every bit as inspiring as those in the mid-Atlantic… and all the other regions, for that matter 😉 I actually got a little choked up at the Region 2 meeting, so much so that I had to cut my comments short in order to hold it together. And I had such a gracious welcome at the Region 1 meeting–NACADA folks are good people!

I always come away form conferences with lots of ideas and a pretty good amount of pent-up energy–chomping at the bit, and sooooo impatient to create stuff. But I also come away from each one with the same problem–I just don’t know how to filter through all the materials from all the remarkable sessions, how to make time while also trying to answer the Eleven-ty-Billion emails that hit my inbox while I was gone, and how to manage all of this while still trying to handle the million pieces of my job.

So, riddle me this, my dear AcAdv colleagues. How do you follow-up on a conference experience as rich as the one we all just had? What have you decided to try to appropriate for your own campus? What was your favorite session? I need ideas, here, people! Help a fella out, would ya?

About Art

I'm the Director of Academic Advising at Quincy College. I'm hoping this can be a place to express the occasional thought that may mean something to someone. . .we'll see. I'm also a musician--I play the string bass in primarily the jazz and classical idioms (though I love many kinds of music and have played everything from folk and bluegrass to new wave and hard rock). And, as an Italian-American, I love good food and good wine. . .basically,don't be surprised by posts on any of the topics mentioned above ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

